SketchUp Pro Authorisation Error - Delete login_session.dat

SketchUp Pro Authorisation Error - Delete login_session.dat

If deauthorising SketchUp does not resolve authorisation errors, you can completely reset the sign in state by deleting the login_session.dat file.

Important notes 
  1. Please close/quit all versions of SketchUp first
  2. Repeat the steps for all versions of SketchUp you find on your machine. Even if very old please check the file does not exist and delete if it does
  3. Also repeat the steps on any other machines you have used SketchUp on to ensure the error completely clears

Mac

  • For Mac users, locate the login_session.dat file in your hidden Library folder inside of your user area.
  • /Users/Your Username/**Library/ApplicationSupport/SketchUp[Version Year]/login_session.dat
    • It is best to follow the path manually and start by going to /Users using the Finder > Go > 'Go to Folder...' feature 
      • **To unhide the library folder, while in your username folder press Command, Shift and . (Full stop/period). The folder should be slightly greyed out. 




Windows

  • For Windows users the file is located in C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\SketchUp\SketchUp VERSION
    • AppData will be hidden, for Windows 11 select View > Show > Hidden Items.
    • For Windows 10 select View > Options > Change folder and search options. In the View tab > Advanced settings > Show hidden files, folders and drives > OK