Removing Remnants of SketchUp Installations on Windows

Removing Remnants of SketchUp Installations on Windows

This article will be relevant to you if:
  1. You have been advised to completely remove a previous version (or all versions) of SketchUp in order to do a “clean install” of a new version.
  2. A SketchUp uninstallation has failed.
  3. You try to install SketchUp, but get an error saying it is already installed even though it is not listed in Add/Remove Programs.
  4. You have been advised to check for, and remove, duplicate MSI entries.

To uninstall the affected version (or versions) of SketchUp:
  1. Use the Windows "Add or remove programs" function, or
  2. Run the SketchUp installer and select the Remove option.

To clean the Temp directory:
  1. In File Explorer, right-click on your (C:) drive in the list on the left side.
  2. In the drop-down menu, select Properties.
  3. On the “General” tab in the Properties dialog, click the "Disk Cleanup" button.
  4. After Disk Cleanup scanning completes, check the "Temporary Files" box and uncheck everything else.
  5. Click OK, and then click Delete Files.

Identify and Report duplicate or stray SketchUp MSI files:
  1. As an Administrator, launch an MS Powershell window (powershell?); then run this command:
  1.     get-wmiobject Win32_Product | Format-Table IdentifyingNumber, Name | Out-String -Stream | Select-String "SketchUp"
  1.  If anything is returned by this command, copy-paste the output into an email or text file attachment, and send it to [email protected] for further assistance.

    • Related Articles

    • Can I Transfer SketchUp Between Mac and Windows?

      If you work in an environment that requires SketchUp to run on both Windows and Mac machines, one license per user is all you need, regardless of what computer you use. There is no need to buy a specific Mac or Windows version. With SketchUp, you now ...
    • Can I Transfer Vectorworks Between Mac and Windows?

      If you work in an environment that requires Vectorworks to run on both Windows and Mac machines, one license per user is all you need, regardless of what computer you use. There is no need to buy a specific Mac or Windows version. When purchasing ...
    • Signing Out of SketchUp to Reset

      If you need to re-sign in to SketchUp for any reason, see the steps below. 1. Open SketchUp and Sign Out. To do this, click the account icon in the top-right, then 'Sign Out' from the menu that appears.           You can also do this by going to ...
    • SketchUp Pro Download Links

      SketchUp Pro 2020 Mac Windows SketchUp Pro 2019 Mac Windows SketchUp Pro 2018 Mac Windows SketchUp Pro 2017 Mac Windows SketchUp Pro 2016 Mac Windows
    • Activating Your SketchUp Pro Subscription

      1. Creating Your Account Once your SketchUp Pro Subscription order has been processed, you will receive an email containing details of your licence, as well as a link to the account management portal. Click the account management portal link, and you ...