Can I Transfer SketchUp Between Mac and Windows?

Can I Transfer SketchUp Between Mac and Windows?

If you work in an environment that requires SketchUp to run on both Windows and Mac machines, one license per user is all you need, regardless of what computer you use. There is no need to buy a specific Mac or Windows version.

With SketchUp, you now have the option of purchasing a classic perpetual license, or a 12 month subscription. SketchUp subscriptions are managed by signing in to your Trimble account. There is no license to add or remove in the software itself. If you wish to de-authorise a computer you can do so in the Trimble Account Manager.

SketchUp Subscription
When purchasing a SketchUp Subscription, we'll send you Trimble account details which are associated with your license(s) as well as instructions of how to download the SketchUp application. Download and install the Windows or Mac version of SketchUp to your computer. Each single user license can be used on up to two computers, regardless of whether they are Windows or Mac.

In the Welcome to SketchUp dialog box that appears when you start SketchUp Pro, you will be able to sign in to your Trimble account. Once successfully signed in to the correct account, your license(s) will be ready to use. If you wish to de-authorise a computer so you can authorise a license elsewhere, you can do so in the Trimble Account Manager.


SketchUp Classic Perpetual
When purchasing classic SketchUp licenses, we'll provide you with a Serial Number and Authorisation Code as well as instructions of how to download the SketchUp application. Download and install the Windows or Mac version of SketchUp to your computer. Each single user license can be used on up to two computers, regardless of whether they are Windows or Mac.
  1. In the Welcome to SketchUp dialog box that appears when you start SketchUp Pro, click the Add License button. If you don't see the Welcome to SketchUp dialog box, select Help > Welcome to SketchUp.
  2. Open the license confirmation email that you received after purchasing your license.
  3. In the email, copy your serial number.
  4. In the Welcome to SketchUp dialog box, paste the serial number into the Serial Number text box.
  5. Back in your email, copy your authorisation code.
  6. In the Welcome to SketchUp dialog box, paste the authorisation code into the Authorisation Code text box.
  7. Click the Add License button
 
If you already authorised your license on two computers, you can remove a license on a computer in order to use the license on a different computer.
  1. Select SketchUp > License (Mac) or Help > License (Windows).
  2. Click the Remove License link. A confirmation dialog box appears.
  3. Click the Remove License button to confirm that you want to remove your license.

    • Related Articles

    • Can I Transfer Vectorworks Between Mac and Windows?

      If you work in an environment that requires Vectorworks to run on both Windows and Mac machines, one license per user is all you need, regardless of what computer you use. There is no need to buy a specific Mac or Windows version. When purchasing ...
    • SketchUp Pro Download Links

      SketchUp Pro 2020 Mac Windows SketchUp Pro 2019 Mac Windows SketchUp Pro 2018 Mac Windows SketchUp Pro 2017 Mac Windows SketchUp Pro 2016 Mac Windows
    • Activating Your SketchUp Pro Subscription

      1. Creating Your Account Once your SketchUp Pro Subscription order has been processed, you will receive an email containing details of your licence, as well as a link to the account management portal. Click the account management portal link, and you ...
    • Signing Out of SketchUp to Reset

      If you need to re-sign in to SketchUp for any reason, see the steps below. 1. Open SketchUp and Sign Out. To do this, click the account icon in the top-right, then 'Sign Out' from the menu that appears.           You can also do this by going to ...
    • Resetting SketchUp Activations

      If you are logging in to SketchUp and see 'You are using SketchUp on too many machines', read on to see how to fix this. When you see the message above, click 'Manage Activations'. You can also access this through your Trimble Account: ...